Chosing a Layout Color

As I had mentioned in my last post, I can get caught up in what colors should be used in a layout. I consider myself real picky concerning colors, and try to pull colors from the photos to use within the page. I find, that often times, the predominate colors I see in the photo just will not work for the page.

Love My Ritz Crackers


As in this layout, I so wanted to use the red and blue from Rachel’s cute little outfit, but no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t find a way to do so. The two colors over-powered the photos. After fighting my desire to use these two colors, I finally realized I had to try something else. I know it is always best to use something neutral, but I am always seeing other scrappers pull off bold colors, but in the end I drew from the wood hues and the yellow from big bird, in the photo and decided my background would end up being a pale yellow. The photos themself were too busy to allow for bold paper colors, but I was still able to bring in both the red and blue in accents. The red butterfly, the 3 brads, top and bottom, the title and the little red heart, and then pulled in some blue linen paper under the main background paper, the blue journaling text and the blue date tab seem to pull it all together.

Leave a Reply

